Free and Open Specification Classification Management Tool







Dear IAOS colleagues, 


The DDI Alliance has announced the public release of  XKOS version 1.2, a free and open specification that facilitates sharing and management of statistical classifications.  This tool is used by a number of international organisations. 


More information is available in the attached media release or at


Best regards, 




Invitation to attend the 2019 IAOS General Assembly (19 August 2019, KLCC)



International Association for Official Statistics


2019 General Assembly Meeting


Monday, 19 August 2019 


Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre (KLCC)

Room: MR 409, Level 4

Time: 12:40 - 13:40




The International Association for Official Statistics (IAOS) is pleased to invite you to attend the 2019 IAOS General Assembly Meeting that will be held on Monday, 19 August 2019 at the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre (Room: MR 409, Level 4) from 12:40-13:40.


The meeting will inform on the IAOS activities and achievements during 2018-2019, as well as on the new Executive Committee 2019-2021 and future activities.





1) Welcome words  - Mario Palma (IAOS President 2017-2019)


2) IAOS Report 2018-2019Mario Palma (IAOS President 2017-2019) (Report)


3) SJIAOS 2018-2019 - Kirsten West (Outgoing SJIAOS Editor-in Chief) (Presentation)


4) YSP 2018-2019 - Gemma Van Halderen (EXCO member) (Report)


5) Formal election of the new IAOS Executive Committee for 2019-2021  (Announcement)


6) IAOS Strategic Plan 2019-2021 - John Pullinger (IAOS President 2019-2021)


7) SJIAOS Strategic Plan - Pieter Everaers (Incoming SJIAOS Editor-in Chief) (Presentation)


8) IAOS Conference 2020 - John Pullinger (IAOS President 2019-2021) and Oliver Chinganya (Programme Chair of the IAOS 2020 Conference)


9) Questions & Comments


11) Closing 



Please note, this General Assembly will be held as part of the 62nd ISI World Statistics Congress that will take place from 18-23 August 2019 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. For more information about the ISI WSC, its programme and registration, please visit:


According to IAOS Statutes: The General Assembly is composed of the individual members, and one designated member from each institution which is a member. Each individual member shall have one vote. The decisions of the General Assembly are taken by simple majority of the votes cast at a meeting or by electronic means except as otherwise stated by the Statutes. Votes expressed electronically shall be considered as valid as votes in person at the General Assembly. Proxy voting is only allowed in the procedure  for changing the statutes.


If you cannot attend, please let us know your comments to any item of the General Assembly by sending us a message to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..




Symposium on Data Sciencie and Official Statistics



UN Statistics Division (UNSD) Symposium on Data Science and Official Statistics

jointly organized with UNESCAP and UN Global Working Group on Big Data

for Official Statistics (GWG)


15-17 August, 2019 


Symposium offers insights into activities at the nexus of Data Science and Official Statistics. 


One of the satellite seminars to the 62nd ISI World Statistics Congress (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 18-23 August 2019).


Registration closes 15 July 2019


See for more information.


Announcement: IAOS Executive Committe 2019-2021




Following the IAOS Statutes, the 2018 Nominating Committee, in charge of selecting the candidates for posts of President-elect and four EXCO members, having one candidate for each position and taking into account a proper regional representation and gender balance as much as possible, has come up with the following list:


Members of the EXCO:


President: Mr. John Pullinger (UK);

President-elect: Mr. Misha Belkindas (USA);

Member: Dr. Mohd Uzir Mahidin (Asia, second term);

Member: Mr. Peter Popoola (Africa, first term);

Member: Ms. Hasnae Fdhil (Arab Region, second term);

Member: Ms. Gemma Van Halderen (Oceania, second term, EXCO lead on 2022 Conference).

Member (ex-officio): Ms. Ada Van Krimpen (Director of the Permanent Office of the ISI).


Co-opted Members:


Mr. Rolando Ocampo Alcantar (Latin America and the Caribbean);

Mr. Jan Robert Suesser (Europe, IAOS representative to the ISI WSC);

Ms. Ayush Ariunzaya (Conference Advisor for the IAOS 2020 Conference in Zambia).


Special Invitees:


Dr. Kirsten West (Editor in Chief, SJIAOS, until August 2019);

Mr. Pieter Everaers (Editor in Chief, SJIAOS, from August 2019);

Ms. Teodora Brandmueller (SCORUS Chair);

Ms. Nancy McBeth (Special Advisor to the President);

Mr. Ronald Jansen (UNSD);

Mr. Oliver Chinganya (Programme Chair of the IAOS 2020 Conference in Zambia);

Mr. Kees Zeelenberg (Former Programme Chair of the IAOS-OECD 2018 Conference in Paris).


I would like to thank the Nominating Committee members for their work and wish the new EXCO for 2019-2021 the best of luck and success.


Mario Palma

IAOS President 2017-2019



UNWDF Webinar on "Trust in Data and Statistics" - 25 April 2019


  Dear IAOS colleagues,


  We would like to share with you the United

  World Data Forum (UNWDF) invitation to its upcoming

  webinar on “Trust in Data and Statistics”

  on Thursday, 25 April 2019 at 10:00 am   (EDT).


  Please visit the UN World Data Forum webinar page 

  for more details.


  The webinars are open to all!


  Best regards,


  IAOS Team







Thursday, April 25 2019

10:00 am (EDT)






Francesca Perucci

Chief, Development Data and Outreach Branch

UN Statistics Division


Shaida Badiee

 Managing Director, Open Data Watch


Pádraig Dalton

 Director General, Central Statistics Office of Ireland